Syd'Quan Thompson Honored with 2009 Tiny Bates Award
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  02/17/2010

Feb. 17, 2010

SACRAMENTO - Defensive back Syd'Quan Thompson was presented with the 2009 Henry J. "Tiny" Bates Memorial Award by the Cal Grid Club of Sacramento at the organization's end-of-season banquet at the Vizcaya Pavilion on Wednesday evening. "It's an honor," said Thompson when asked about winning the award. "There are so many different guys that have been here in my place. It's just an honor to be here [at the banquet]. There are a lot of supporters here that have helped out with the football program. Me being here is my way of saying thanks."

The award is given annually to a senior on the Cal football team from the Sacramento Valley region. The accolade is named in honor of Bates, who was one of the co-founders of the club in 1947 and a right end for the Golden Bears in 1916 and 1917 under legendary head coach Andy Smith. The award was established in 1968 in Bates' memory after his passing.

Thompson, who graduated from Grant High School in Sacramento in 2005, capped off his Cal career in 2009 by earning first-team All-Pac-10 honors for the second consecutive season and earning a roster spot for the 2010 Senior Bowl. He started all 13 games for the fourth straight campaign to establish a school record with 52 career starts. Thompson also finished his collegiate career as Cal's all-time leader with 36 pass breakups, eclipsing the former record of 35 held by Chidi Iwuoma (1997-2000) when he broke up two passes in his final collegiate game at the San Diego County Credit Union Poinsettia Bowl. He finished the 2009 season with 49 tackles, 4.0 tackles for loss, a team-high 10 pass breakups and one interception that he returned for 38 yards, along with eight punt returns for 45 yards.

Other notable final career totals for Thompson included 257 tackles, seven interceptions that he returned for 204 yards, 43 passes defended, 20.0 tackles for loss (65 yards) and 36 punt returns that he brought back for a total of 389 yards. Thompson recorded a career-high 78 tackles as a sophomore in 2007 and recorded four of his seven career picks in 2008 to lead the squad.

"I want to thank the Bates family for being here and supporting me," said Thompson at the microphone. "I want to thank everybody who has supported me throughout my career. I want to thank Sandy Barbour and coach Tedford for allowing me to be part of the Bear family. I'm going to miss everybody."

"He turned into not just a great football player for us, but I can't tell you the growth and development he has had as a person and in the classroom," said Tedford during his turn at the podium. "When Syd first got to Cal, he would never look you in the eye. He was really shy and introverted. Now Syd has a lot of energy and enthusiasm and became a great, great leader for this program. We are going to miss him a lot. We all wish him the very best as he ventures into the NFL."

1968 - Dennis Pitta
1969 - Paul Martyr
1970 - Dave Seppi
1971 - Sam Garamendi
1972 - No Award
1973 - Ted Seifert
1974 - No Award
1975 - Paul Von der Mehden
1976 - Fred Besana
1977 - Jim Breech
1978 - Ralph DeLoach
1979 - Darnell Chapman, Joe Rose
1980 - Brian Bailey, Matt Bouza, Kirk Karacozoff
1981 - No Award
1982 - Tim Lucas
1983 - Steve Shotwell
1984 - Gale Gilbert
1985 - Brian Walgenbach
1986 - No Award
1987 - Brian Bedford
1988 - Rob Bimson, Vincent Delgado
1989 - Tony Smith, Troy Taylor
1990 - Robbie Keen
1991 - Steve Gordon
1992 - No Award
1993 - No Award
1994 - No Award
1995 - No Award
1996 - No Award
1997 - Kato Serwanga
1998 - Mark Orr
1999 - Matt Beck
2000 - Harold Pearson
2001 - Marcus Fields
2002 - No Award
2003 - Mark Wilson
2004 - Garrett Cross
2005 - Marvin Philip, Ryan O'Callaghan
2006 - Byron Storer
2007 - Lavelle Hawkins
2008 - Worrell Williams
2009 - Syd'Quan Thompson