Don't have an account? Click Here

Cal's Helvie Wins Platform Final at Texas Invitational
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  12/03/2005

Dec. 3, 2005

AUSTIN, Texas - California freshman Sam Helvie won the platform diving final on Saturday morning, the last day of the Texas Invitational held at the Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center. Helvie, from Bakersfield, Calif., had a score of 282.85 to beat a field that included sophomore teammate Javier Rivas, who took fourth (254.60) on the platform. Helvie, with his first collegiate victory, is the first Golden Bear to win an event at the annual competition.

The other Saturday morning events consisted of preliminaries or, in the case of the 1,650-yard freestyle, the first of two heats.

Daniel Lysaught took second place in the first 1,650-yard freestyle heat for third-ranked California. Lysaught, a junior from Queensland, Australia, swam an NCAA provisional qualifying time of 15:30.15 and senior teammate Ryan Lean was fifth in 15:33.23 in the distance event. Arizona's David Pursley (15:24.23) won the 1,650 free.

The top results for the Bears in the other prelims included senior Henrique Barbosa placing fifth in the 200 breaststroke (2:00.28, NCAA provisional qualifying time and Cal's second-fastest time of the season) and sophomore Louis Vayo placing sixth (1:47.32) and sophomore Mark Eckert taking seventh (1:47.38) in the 200-yard backstroke. Junior Jonas Tilly recorded Cal's second-fastest 100 free of the season (44.71) to place 12th.

The three-day Texas Invitational ends with tonight's finals, which begin at 6 p.m. CT.

California Results from Day 3 at the Texas Invitational


Platform Diving
1. Sam Helvie 282.85. 4. Javier Rivas 254.60.

1650-Yard Freestyle - First Heat
2. Daniel Lysaught 15:30.15. 5. Ryan Lean 15:33.23. 18. Spencer Rodman 16:05.67. 19. Dominik Meichtry 16:08.52. 20. Michael Jafari 16:08.85.


200-Yard Backstroke
6. Louis Vayo 1:47.32. 7. Mark Eckert 1:47.38. 14. David Russell 1:49.06. 20. Chris Gibson 1:50.11.

100-Yard Freestyle
12. Jonas Tilly 44.71. 13. William Copeland 44.76. 18. Jernej Godec 45.21. 19. Garrett Wagner 45.26. 22. Joe Whittington 45.40. 27. Matt Lyon 45.53. 38. Evan Lane 46.12. 43. Milorad Cavic 46.45. 54. Dominik Meichtry 47.24. 61. Eric Dunipace 47.73. 70. Dash Rothberg 48.36. 73. Nate Rogers 48.59.

200-Yard Breaststroke
5. Henrique Barbosa 2:00.28. 13. Graham Lentz 2:02.87. 28. Richard Hunter 2:09.27. 30. Paul Hernandez 2:10.75. 35. Graeme Baldwin 2:18.61.

200-Yard Butterfly
14. Patrick O'Neil 1:49.79. 28. Justin Pollard 1:52.16. 32t. Dominic Cathey 1:52.36. 35. Ian Lentz 1:52.53. 48. Alexander Holdridge 1:57.21.

Cal Bears Men's Swimming & Diving

Playing for the Future
Cal Athletics Dress Your Pet Contest
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Premium Tickets
Uploaded Ad grand opening