O'Neal Named Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  11/29/1999

Nov. 29, 1999

Berkeley - Cal senior Deltha O'Neal was named Monday as the Pac-10 Conference Defensive Player of the Year. He becomes the first Cal player to earn the conference defensive award since Ron Rivera shared the honor with Ricky Hunley of Arizona in 1983

O'Neal was one of five Cal players to earn first team All-Pac-10 accolades. O'Neal was also picked as a first team return specialist. Joining O'Neal as unanimous first team picks by all the Pac-10 coaches were junior defensive end Andre Carter and punter Nick Harris. Only two other players in the league were unanimous selections: Troy Walters of Stanford and Dennis Northcutt of Arizona.

Senior linebacker Sekou Sanyika and junior defensive tackle Jacob Waasdorp also earned first team Pac-10 honors.

Five Cal players earned Pac-10 honorable mention, including Mawuko Tugbenyoh, who led the league with 13 sacks in 1999, senior safety Pete Destefano, senior offensive lineman Kevin Doherty, junior cornerback Chidi Iwuoma and senior linebacker Keith Miller.