Dick Erickson Receives 2011 Glenn Seaborg Award
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  10/17/2011

Oct. 17, 2011

BERKELEY - Dick Erickson, the former Cal quarterback on Pappy Waldorf's teams from 1946-48 who spent 15 years as executive director of the California Alumni Association, has been chosen as the 2011 recipient of the Glenn T. Seaborg Award.

The award, named after the former University of California chancellor and 1951 Nobel Prize-winning scientist, is presented annually to a former Cal football player for his career accomplishments and represents the honored Cal principles and traditions of excellence in academics, athletics, leadership and attitude.

"Dick worked closely with Dr. Seaborg in his responsibilities with the Cal Alumni Association and knew him well," said Jack Hart, chair of the Seaborg Award Board of Directors. "Dr. Seaborg would be very pleased to see Dick receive this recognition for his contributions and accomplishments."

Erickson was raised in Stockton, Calif., and enrolled at Cal after a tour of duty in the Navy in 1946. He lettered for the Golden Bears during three seasons and was part of the Cal squad that compiled a 10-1 record and played in the 1949 Rose Bowl against Northwestern.

After graduating in 1949, Erickson worked for two years as director of business administration and economics for the University Extension and six years as executive director of the Fire Underwriters Association of the Pacific.

Erickson returned to campus in 1957 as executive director of the California Alumni Association, a position he held until 1972. He remained at Cal for another 12 years as assistant chancellor for development from 1972-84. He worked as a tour leader for J&D Tours from 1984-2005.

Pappy's Boys, an organization of more than 500 former Golden Bears who played under Waldorf, was founded in 1985. Erickson has served as the group's only executive director. He was a driving force behind a book, "Pappy's Boys, The Rose Bowl Years: A Legacy of Winning," that was written by Ron Fimrite.

During his time in Berkeley, Erickson led the Disaster Relief Program for the local chapter of the American Red Cross, served as president of Berkeley Rotary International and was a member of the Family Club.

Erickson is a past president of the San Francisco chapter of the National Football Foundation and is a former member of the Board of Directors of the Bay Area Sports Hall of Fame. He continues to hold membership in the Big C Society, the Order of the Golden Bear and Theta Delta Chi.

The UC Berkeley Foundation has twice recognized Erickson, with the Wheeler Oak Meritorious Award in 1985 and the Trustees' Citation Award in 1999.

Erickson and his wife, Jan, have been married 64 years and live in Rossmoor. They have three daughters, one son and seven grandchildren.

Established in 1995, the Seaborg Award has been presented to 16 recipients. Past winners are:

1995 - Rod Franz
1996 - John Najarian, M.D.
1997 - John Ralston
1998 - Les Richter
1999 - Vic Bottari
2000 - Pete Schabarum
2001 - Ed Bartlett
2002 - Ray Willsey
2003 - Jack Hart
2004 - Bob Karpe
2005 - Harry Agler
2006 - Chris Markey
2007 - George Stathakis
2008 - Nick Veliotes
2009 - John Garamendi
2010 - Pete Domoto