USC Tops UCLA, 7-4, To Win NCAA Water Polo
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  12/04/2011

Dec. 4, 2011

BERKELEY - Bolstered by the play of tournament MVP Joel Dennerley, USC won its fourth-straight NCAA Men's Water Polo Championship with a 7-4 victory over rival UCLA Sunday (Dec. 4) at the University of California's Spieker Aquatics Complex. Dennerley, the Trojans' senior goalie from Chester Hill, Australia, finished the championship match with 14 saves, while seven different field players scored for USC.

The Trojans end the year 24-3 and become the first school to win four consecutive NCAA men's water polo titles. UCLA, the winners of the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Tournament, dropped to 24-5. The Bruins were led by a pair of goals from junior Josh Samuels. UCLA had won the conference tournament, hosted at its own Spieker Aquatics Center, with a 10-9 in sudden-death victory over USC on Nov. 27 in the title game to earn the MPSF's automatic berth into the NCAAs.

In the NCAA third place match, Princeton (22-10) defeated UC San Diego (17-11), 9-7. The Tigers were able to break away from a 7-7 tie in the fourth quarter when freshman Thomas Nelson scored with 1:34 left in the final period, and then iced the contest with another goal with 28 seconds left in the match.

In the championship match, UCLA's Samuels scored first on a five-meter meter penalty shot with 3:05 left in the opening period, but then the Trojans ran off five straight goals - from Michael Rosenthal, Connor Virjee, Nikola Vavic, Stephen Siri and Mace Rapsey - before Samuels was able to score again with 2:29 left in the half. From there, USC controlled the contest with tight defense as Dennerley was able to block several of the Bruins' shot attempts.

Besides Dennerley's MVP honors, Peter Kurzeka and Vavic were NCAA Tournament first-team selections for the Trojans. Samuels and Cullen Hennessy were members of the NCAA Tournament first-team for UCLA, Nelson was a first-team selection for Princeton and Graham Saber from UC San Diego rounded out the NCAA Tournament first-team.

Second-team All-NCAA Tournament picks were goalie Matt Rapacz, and field players Griffin White and Cristiano Mirarchi from UCLA; Jeremy Davie and Mace Rapsey from USC; Drew Hoffenberg from Princeton, and Brian Donohoe from UC San Diego.

For a copy of the 2011 NCAA Men's Water Polo Championship bracket click 2011 NCAA MWP Bracket.

Cal had hosted the 2010 NCAA Men's Water Polo Championship as well.