Don't have an account? Click Here

Play Video
Jim Hanifan is the 2014 Seabor Award winner
Jim Hanifan Named Seaborg Award Winner
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  08/26/2014

BERKELEY – Jim Hanifan, a former Cal All-American who led the nation in receiving in 1954 then went on to become one of the most respected offensive line coaches in the NFL, has been chosen as the recipient of the 2014 Glenn T. Seaborg Award.

The award, named after the former University of California chancellor and 1951 Nobel Prize-winning scientist, is presented annually to a former Cal football player for his career accomplishments who represents the honored Cal principles and traditions of excellence in academics, athletics, leadership and attitude. Hanifan will be recognized for the honor during a ceremony during the Cal-Colorado football game on Sept. 27.

“Jim is a terrific example of a Golden Bear football player who has distinguished himself in his chosen profession at a very high level,” said Jack Hart, chair of the Seaborg Award Board of Directors.

Hanifan led all receivers nationally with 44 catches in 1954 and also scored seven touchdowns. After playing one season for the Toronto Argonauts of the Canadian Football League, Hanifan was drafted into the U.S. Army and played for a team in Fort Ord, Calif. that won the National Service Championship. While serving in Schweinfurt, Germany, Hanifan played for a team that won the European Service Championship.

Hanifan began his coaching career at the high school level before getting his first collegiate job as an assistant at the University of Utah in 1966. He later was an assistant at Cal for two years. In 1973, Hanifan became the offensive line coach for the St. Louis Cardinals of the NFL.

Hanifan later became the head coach of the Cardinals for six years and had another stint as interim head coach of the Atlanta Falcons. Hanifan coached in the NFL in some capacity for nearly 30 years.

“I’m extremely honored to be selected by the Seaborg committee,” Hanifan said. “It’s quite an honor for me. I appreciate the fact that the committee looked at my work and made the decision that I was worthy of the honor.”

Hanifan and his wife, Mariana, have two children. Their grandson, Austin Hinder, plays quarterback for the Bears.

Established in 1995, the Seaborg Award has been presented to 19 recipients. Past winners are:

1995 – Rod Franz

1996 – John Najarian, M.D.

1997 – John Ralston

1998 – Les Richter

1999 – Vic Bottari

2000 – Pete Schabarum

2001 – Ed Bartlett

2002 – Ray Willsey

2003 – Jack Hart

2004 – Bob Karpe

2005 – Harry Agler

2006 – Chris Markey

2007 – George Stathakis

2008 – Nick Veliotes

2009 – John Garamendi

2010 – Pete Domoto

2011 – Dick Erickson

2012 – Thelton Henderson

2013 – Mike White

Cal Bears Athletics News

Playing for the Future
Cal Athletics Dress Your Pet Contest
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Premium Tickets
Uploaded Ad