MEMBER SIGN IN
Don't have an account? Click Here


Russell Webb has Alec Gletzer in support vs. Temple.
Courtesy: Abel Barrientes
Cal Defeats Temple to Open CRC
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  05/30/2014

2014 Collegiate Rugby Championship
Sat. May 31: Pool A vs. Drexel 11:40 a.m. ET/8:40 a.m. PT, vs. Maryland 3:07 p.m. ET/12:07 p.m. PT
Sun. June 1: Championship Rounds TBD

TV: NBC/NBCSN
Sat. May 31: NBC 3-4:30 p.m. ET / 12-1:30 p.m. PT, NBCSN 4:30-6 p.m. ET / 1:30-3 p.m. PT
Sun. June 1: NBCSN 2-4 p.m. ET / 11 a.m.-1 p.m. PT, NBC 4-6 p.m. ET / 1-3 p.m. PT

PHILADELPHIA – The Golden Bears jumped out to a six-try lead before two late scores by the Owls trimmed the gap as California exited its Pool A opener at the Collegiate Rugby Championship with a 36-14 win over Temple Friday at PPL Park.

Jake Anderson scored two tries for Cal, which got its other five-pointers from captain Seamus Kelly, Russell Webb, Alec Gletzer and Andrew Battaglia. Webb managed to connect on 2-of-5 conversions and Brad Harrington made 1-of-1.

Temple’s tries were scored by John Broomell and Peter Mulville, with conversions by Scott Weber (1-for-1) and Ryan Grow (1-for-1), as the Owls achieved a 14-12 second-half advantage over the Bears. With points differential a determining factor in Sunday’s seeding in the championship rounds, the last seven minutes of Friday’s action could prove problematic for the Blue and Gold (1-0, +22).

“I don't think we got off to an ideal start,” said Kelly. “We let them off the hook a few times defensively. We have to take the good things we did today and build upon those, and deal with the things we did poorly quickly.”

For complete results of Friday’s action in pool play, visit http://www.usasevenscrc.com/2014-fixtures-and-results/.

Cal will continue to compete in the Olympic code of rugby Saturday against Drexel at 11:40 a.m. ET/8:40 a.m. PT followed by the Bears vs. Maryland at 3:07 p.m. ET/12:07 p.m. ET, with their match against the Terrapins slated for a national television broadcast. Action at the CRC will be televised in the Pacific Time zone beginning Saturday, May 31, from 12-1:30 p.m. on NBC and 1:30-3 p.m. on NBCSN, continuing Sunday, June 1, from 11 a.m.-1 p.m. on NBCSN and 1-3 p.m. on NBC.

The rest of the field at the 2014 CRC consists of Dartmouth College, the 2011 and ’12 CRC champion, followed by Notre Dame, St. Joe’s and Kutztown in Pool B; Michigan, Navy, Ohio State and Texas in Pool C; UCLA, Penn State, South Carolina and Northeastern in Pool D; and Arizona, Virginia Tech, UPenn and Life in Pool E. Pool winners advance automatically to Sunday’s championship rounds along with the top-three second-place teams, while the remaining squads will compete in consolation brackets.

The winner of the tournament receives the Pete Dawkins Trophy, named for the three-time Oxford Blue and Rhodes Scholar who also won the Heisman Trophy as a gridiron halfback for Army at West Point before a decorated military career that ended with his rank of Brigadier General.

The 7s format features seven-minute halves, three-man scrums and a wide-open style on the same-sized pitch as the 15s code of the game. The rules are otherwise the same as 15s with two notable exceptions: all conversions are taken as drop kicks and the team that scores makes the ensuing kickoff to restart play (just as in gridiron football).

Rugby 7s is the same version of the game that returns as a medal sport to the next Summer Olympics, at which Cal players helped the USA win gold at the 1920 and '24 Games. Three alumni – Colin Hawley, Blaine Scully and most recently Danny Barrett – have received U.S. National 7s Team contracts financed by the United States Olympic Committee, with Barrett having just completed the 2013 international 7s season with the national team.

The Scoring Timeline vs. Temple

01:00 Seamus Kelly 5

03:00 Russell Webb 5, 2

06:00 Alec Gletzer 7, Brad Harrington 2

07:00 Andrew Battaglia 5

Halftime Score: California 24, Temple 0

10:00 Jake Anderson 5, Russell Webb 2

11:00 Jake Anderson 5

13:00 Temple (John Broomell) 5, (Scott Weber) 2

14:00 Temple (Peter Mulville) 5, (Ryan Grow) 2

Final Score: California 36, Temple 14

The Team vs. Temple

1. Kelly, 2. Harrington, 3. Gletzer, 4. Webb, 5. Anderson, 6. Barrientes, 7. Battaglia
Replacements: Milne, Hendrickson, Bosco


Cal Bears Rugby


advertisement
Register with Cal Rugby
Cal Athletics Dress Your Pet Contest
Listen to Cal Games live online
Playing for the Future
The Next 100 Years of Cal Rugby
Premium Tickets
Uploaded Ad
Cal Rugby Camps
http://www.calbearsshop.com/
swim caps
CAL ATHLETICS E-MAIL SIGN-UP