Don't have an account? Click Here

Cole Reiser
Cal Nets 14 On Pac-12 All-Academic Squad
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  06/05/2013

June 5, 2013

Pac-12 All-Academic TeamsGet Acrobat Reader

BERKELEY - The California men's crew program saw 14 Golden Bears named to the Pac-12 Conference All-Academic squads this spring, the most since 2009.

To be eligible for selection, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 grade-point average. The 14 all-academic honorees matched the Golden Bears' total from 2009.

Five Golden Bears earned first-team all-academic laurels, including James Connolly, Jack Kornfeld, Michael Perretta and Jason Stroud. Perretta collected his second career academic honor after earning a place on the second team in 2011.

Three-time academic honoree Isaac Howell along with coxswain Chelsea Lucas. Klotz earned his third-straight all-academic recognition. He was a first-team all-academic selection in 2012 and a second-team pick in 2011. Lucic and Marino garnered second-team all-academic honors for the second-straight year. Remler collected his first career academic laurels as did Lucas and Howell.

Sophomore Sean Murphy and coxswain Colby Rapson were named as honorable mention picks. Rapson was honored for the second-straight year.

Cal earned podium finishes in four of the five grand finals at the IRA National Championships at Lake Natoma in Gold River, Calif. this past Sunday. Cal's varsity eight finished fifth, while the Golden Bears placed second in the varsity four, and third in the second varsity eight, freshman eight and open four.

First Team
Demetrius Baefsky
James Connolly
Jack Kornfeld
Michael Perretta
Jason Stroud

Second Team
Matt Dignan
Isaac Howell
Cameron Klotz
Chelsea Lucas
Igor Lucic
Steve Marino
Daniel Remler

Honorable Mention
Colby Rapson
Sean Murphy

Cal Bears Men's Crew

Playing for the Future
Scholarshare BBall
Cal Athletics Dress Your Pet Contest
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Premium Tickets
Uploaded Ad