Bears Move on in UCSB Classic
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  10/13/2012

Oct. 13, 2012

UCSB Classic Day 1 Results Get Acrobat Reader

SANTA BARBARA, Calif. - Fresh off his singles win at the Aggie Invitational, California sophomore Gregory Bayane won in both singles and doubles on the first day of the UCSB Classic on Friday. He teamed with freshman Wyatt Houghton to advance in the Flight A Doubles Draw and won in Flight A Singles to also advance, while Houghton moved on in Flight B Singles.

Bayane, a sophomore, and Houghton, a freshman, defeated Cal Poly's Jurgan De Jager and Gannon Daynes, 8-6, and will play UCSB's Ziad Sultan-Mbonisi Ndimande in the doubles semifinals. Also in Flight A Doubles, Cal sophomore Nikhil Jayashankar and freshman Jordan Smith lost to Nevada's Moez Echargui-Andrew Poustie; the Bear pair will next play Kyle Miller-Hugo Veri-Fortin of UC Davis in the fifth-place bracket.

In Flight A Singles, Bayane defeated UC San Diego's Camill Salomon, 7-5, 6-0, and will play Toki Sherbakov of UC Davis in the next round. Meanwhile, Jayashankar fell to Cal Poly's Jordan Bridge, 6-1, 5-7, 6-2, to move into the consolation bracket. The sophomore will next play UCSB's Ziad Sultan.

Houghton was one of three Bears playing in Flight B Singles, Cal Poly's Jordan Kepler, 6-4, 7-5, to set up a match with the Gauchos' Jake Johnson. The other Bears - Smith and freshman Stuart Miller - lost in Flight B. Smith dropped a match to UCSB's Benjamin Recknagel, 6-1,6-1, and will play UCSD's Kona Luu next. Miller is slated for a match with Northern Arizona's Alan Barrios, after falling to George Horowitz of UC Davis, 6-2, 1-0.

The three-day tournament continues on Saturday.