Stewart Ties Cal Hurdles Mark, Reaches NCAA Final
Courtesy: Cal Athletics  
Release:  03/08/2013

March 8, 2013

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. - Cal senior Ray Stewart tied the school record in the 60-meter hurdles Friday at the NCAA Indoor Championships, running 7.68 seconds, and qualified fourth for Saturday afternoon's final.

Running in the first of two semifinal heats, Stewart came in just behind winner Spencer Adams of Clemson, who was timed in 7.62 seconds. Stewart and Texas A&M's Wayne Davis II crossed the line at virtually the same time, with Stewart just a nose ahead.

"Ray ran a careful race from start to finish with no major mistakes," director of track & field Tony Sandoval said. "His start to the first hurdle was good, but can be much better. He recovered quickly and is fresh for tomorrow. Ray is confident for the finals."

Eddie Lovett of Florida, competing in heat two, had the fastest overall time at 7.53 seconds. The NCAA final is scheduled to go off at 4:30 p.m. Saturday, and the event will be televised live online at

Lovett and Adams came into the event as the top two seeds, with Stewart seventh.

Stewart set the Cal record of 7.68 during his preliminary heat at the MPSF Championships in Seattle two weeks ago. He later finished second in the final with a time of 7.78.

In 2011, Stewart won the MPSF 60-meter hurdles title indoors, then captured the Pac-10 110-meter hurdles outdoor crown in 13.48. He missed last season due to knee surgery. Prior to enrolling at Cal, Stewart was a two-time state JC 110 hurdles champ at Merritt College.

NCAA Indoor Championship
Randal Tyson Track Complex / Fayetteville, Ark.

Complete Results

Men's 60-meter Hurdles Results

Heat  1 Preliminaries
  1 Spencer Adams        SR Clemson         7.62Q
  2 Ray Stewart          SR California      7.68Q 7.674 
  3 Wayne Davis II       JR Texas A&M       7.68q 7.679
  4 Greggmar Swift       JR Indiana State   7.72q
  5 Johnathan Cabral     SO Oregon          7.73q 7.724
  6 Vanier Joseph        JR Illinois        7.77
  7 Milan Ristic         JR UNC-Asheville   7.80
  8 Demoye Bogle         JR Ohio State      7.84  7.837

Heat 2 Preliminaries 1 Eddie Lovett JR Florida 7.53Q 2 Keiron Stewart SR Texas 7.63Q 3 Keith Hayes SR Kentucky 7.69q 4 Jordan Mullen SR Iowa 7.73 7.726 5 Caleb Cross SR Arkansas 7.74 6 Marcus Maxey SR Clemson 7.78 7 Dapo Akinmoladun FR Nebraska 7.84 7.836 -- Vincent Wyatt SO Radford DQ Rule 5-6-b